Understand Linux runlevels

runlevels is the term that the mode of operation running in one of the computer operating system that running with Unix box.

With runlevels, it determine what should be running from the system boot or operation. runlevel is typically come with level 0-6 though it do have 0-9 or 0-10 and even S as a level.

Typical Linux runlevel come with code below,
0 – Halt
1 – Single-User mode
2 – Multi-User mode
3 – Multi-User mode with networking
4 – Not used/user definable
5 – Start from system normally with appropriate display manager
6 – ┬áReboot

Published by

Mick Genie

Mick Genie is the founder of MickGenie.com and working at ExaBytes Network Sdn Bhd and WPWebHost web host company. He is expertise in Windows and Linux environment especially web hosting related information, tips and trick as well as the IT Information.

One thought on “Understand Linux runlevels”

Comments are closed.